Mac N Cheese N Chorizo Pizza

Another BBQ Brethren throw down came down the pipe this week called Pizza.  So thinking outside the box, I decided to try a Mac N Cheese pizza with Chorizo sausage.  One of the rules is it has be be done on a smoker or a grill and can not be done in a conventional oven.  So during the week I come up with the game plan and come Sunday it was time to start.

Thanks to the unpredictable weather in Calgary, the degree of difficulty went up a notch.

 

 

So to start the ball rolling, I made up some pizza dough in the morning so it was ready for dinner.  I added some basil, oregano and garlic powder to the recipe to give it some added flavour.

 

 

 

 

From there it was time to get the party started.  I got Taylor involved by getting the Mac N Cheese ready for the pizza filling.

 

 

 

I rolled out the dough and got the small cast iron frying pans out to make the individual pizzas.  I brushed the frying pans with some olive oil to help crisp up the bottom and to impart a little extra flavour.

 

 

 

From there it was time to get these pizzas filled.  I chopped up some Chorizo sausage and put a little into the bottom of each one.  I added some grated Parmesan cheese and a little pepper jack cheese to the bottom.

 

 

 

 

 

Then in went the Mac N Cheese and topped with some more pepper jack cheese and a few more pieces of Chorizo and it was ready for the grill.

 

 

 

 

Nothing tastes better than food coming off the grill and pizza is no difference.  So the next time you are thinking of cooking something, do not neglect your grill.  It will do everything your oven will do, only better.

 

 

 

The Foodie

thefoodie

