Shrimp Scampi

More home made pasta, only this time in a shrimp scampi form.  I will have to write down some of these recipes so that I can share them here.  But since I’m rebuilding the site, I’ll just put the highlights on here for now.

 

 

 

 

 

Again this one started with home made pasta done in the Kitchen Aid stand mixer.  I’m far to lazy to hand make pasta.  I live in a time where machines can do this much better than I.

 

 

 

 

Once the pasta dough is ready, wrap in plastic wrap and let stand for a while.  This will help make the dough easier to handle.  I cut the dough into smaller pieces so that it is easier to handle.  With my pasta roller attachment on my Kitchen Aid, I rolled out the pasta into sheets ready for the cutter.

 

 

 

Be sure to keep flour handy to keep the dough from sticking.  When cutting the dough into the fettuccine be sure to keep the flour handy and toss the fettuccine in the dough.

 

 

 

With the pasta in the salted boiling water, I was ready to start on the shrimp scampi.

 

 

 

Fry some garlic and chili pepper flakes in butter and olive oil and squeeze in some fresh lemon and freshly chopped basil.  When the garlic has cooked for a few minutes throw in your shrimp to get them cooking.

 

 

 

 

When the shrimp is done, pull the pasta straight from the boiling water into the frying pan.  The extra water will help make a creamier sauce.  Toss with some more fresh chopped basil.

 

 

 

Plate and add some freshly grated Parmesan and enjoy.

 

 

The Foodie

 

thefoodie

 

