Potato crust pizza

Saw this on one of the tasty posts on Facebook and thought I would give it a try.  Why do they always look so easy on the videos and yet they never resemble that in real life?

 

 

 

 

Now looking at that picture one would think, that looks delicious and you would be right.  It was very tasty the sad thing was it did not resemble a pizza in the final serving state.  I may have to try and find the tasty video again and watch it to see if I missed something.

 

I started my recipe with some olive oil and chopped garlic in a cast iron skillet with a little salt and pepper.

 

 

 

From there it was cutting the potatoes into thin slices and layering them across the bottom of the pan.

 

 

 

 

 

Once the first layer was done, I added more salt and pepper.

 

 

 

I was approximately two layers with a few extra thrown in on top.  I then put it into the oven for about 30 minutes to get the potatoes cooking.  After that I pulled it out and added tomato sauce to the top then back into the oven for a few more minutes to help cook the potatoes more.

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh out of the oven, it was time to layer on some mozzarella cheese and get it all nice and melty.

 

 

 

 

Fresh out of the oven it was time to top it with some cherry tomatoes, fresh basil leaves, fresh prosciutto and a drizzle of olive oil.

 


When it come to serving this is where the problem started.  While I was cutting it, it didn’t really cut properly like a pizza and turned more into a scalloped potato type dish.  Delicious, but not much like I was expecting.  Oh well, time and practice will make it better.

 

 

 

The Foodie

thefoodie

