Bacon Pineapple Teriyaki Burger

Sounds like a mouth full and it is, but had to be tried.  Saw it on Pinterest and it peaked my interest.

 

 

 

 

First thing first was making the teriyaki sauce.

1 Cup Soy sauce

1/2 Cup Water

1/4 Cup Brown sugar

3 cloves of garlic crushed

1 Tbsp crushed ginger

1 Tsp chili flakes

2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar

 

Bring to a boil and reduce by a third.  If you want it a little thicker, you can make a slurry of water and cornstarch and add while it is boiling.

 

 

 

 

Then it was time to assemble the burgers and get them on the grill.  Yes I know it looks like a religious symbol and to me maybe it is.  I look at bacon with such reverence!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then it was time to get them onto the grill and baste with the teriyaki sauce.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Continue to baste every minute or so until the burgers are done.  Be careful as the sugars will tend to burn if the heat gets too high.  I think next time I will pre-cook the bacon a bit.  By the time the bacon was a crispy as I like, the burgers were a little on the dry side.

 

 

 

Overall I was happy with the taste and will certainly try it again.  Maybe cut up the pineapple into the ground beef and/or the bacon.  The possibilities.

 

The Foodie

 

thefoodie

 

