Amish Bread

Had a recipe in my recipe folder on allrecipes.com and finally had the chance to give it a try this weekend.

 

 

 

 

I know they look different, that’s because I used a lasagna pan as I only have 1 loaf pan and there was way too much dough for that.

 

For starters you want the water, yeast and sugar to start their process of becoming foamy prior to adding the oil, flour and salt.

 

 

 

When it’s nice and foamy, about 30 or so minutes, you can add the oil and salt and slowly start adding the flour.

 

 

Surface tension allowed me to over pour the oil, something that is not really necessary.  I just thought it looked like a cool image.

 

Unlike the Amish, I have the benefit of powered equipment to help me knead the dough, otherwise this may not have been as much fun.

 

 

 

Once the dough has come together and is not sticky to the touch, you can stop the process and transfer to an oiled bowl to allow the yeast to do its job.

 

 

 

Cover and let stand for an hour or so and it should more than double in size.

 

 

 

Punch it down and cut in half to form into two loaf pans.  Again I used a lasagna pan for this but feel free to use what ever pan you wish.

 

 

 

Cover and let stand until the dough again rises above the sides of the pan.  Once it has risen, heat your oven to 350ºF and put in your pan(s).  Cook for 30-40 minutes, depending on how fast your oven normally cooks.  The best way I’ve found on testing the doneness of bread is to tap on the top.  If is sounds hollow, it is most likely done.  You can’t always tell by the colour of the bread.

 

 

 

Resist the urge to cut into it now and smother with butter as it’s probably still quite hot.  Let it cool for a few minutes to let your taste buds anticipate the flavour.

 

The only thing I would change on this recipe is the amount of sugar.  We found it too sweet for our taste and would probably cut the sugar in half.

 

The Foodie

 

thefoodie

 

