Pineapple, coconut cinnamon rolls

Was attempting to make Hawaiian bread, but for some reason the dough did not really rise.  Not sure if it was the shredded coconut, the coconut flour I used or the yeast.  Regardless, it did not rise like I was hoping, so I did the next best thing.  I turned it into pineapple coconut cinnamon rolls.

 

 

 

Started by rolling out the dough and slathering with butter.

 

 

 

Top with a liberal amount of cinnamon as we like cinnamon.

 

 

 

This time I used Splenda instead of white sugar.  Trying to keep the calorie count down.  If I make this again, I’ll opt for brown sugar I believe.  It was missing that something something for a great cinnamon roll, even though this was a bit of a departure from the norm.

 

 

 

Then it was rolled up and cut into pieces.

 

 

 

Place them on a parchment lined baking sheet.

 

 

 

I then covered it and let rise again for about an hour.  Sadly they did not puff up much so was not the usual doubling in size.

 

 

 

Baked at 350ºF for about 20 minutes then patiently waited until they cooled a bit before trying.

 

 

 

Like I mentioned earlier, the Splenda really didn’t have a lasting impression, so if I do this again, I’ll definitely use brown sugar and lots of it.  Maybe even used toasted coconut with the cinnamon and sugar and not put it in the dough.

 

The Foodie

 

thefoodie

 

