Beef Sirloin Tip

Over at the BBQ Brethren, they have weekly and monthly Throwdowns.  This is where the previous throwdown winner picks a dish and that’s the new challenge for the next Throwdown.  The monthly throwdown for April was Master Top Sirloin and since we were going to be at the house in BC I decided to enter the challenge.

 

 

Now you might look at that plate and think that’s a lot of food…and it was…but you have to realize the plate is a small picnic sized plate.  Unless you thought asparagus is that large and the fork came from the land of giants!

 

The rules for the challenge are you need to provide a pic of the meat before cooking, the method of cooking (and since it is a BBQ site it had to involve flame in some form) and the meat displayed without any sides.  As you can see from the photo above, I missed that last rule, but alas, the food was delicious and next time I’ll pay closer attention to the rules.  Anyway, below is what I submitted.  Enjoy.

 

Picked up a Top Sirloin steak from Famous Fritz Meats and Deli in Creston.

 

 

We also stopped at the local grocery store and picked up a potato for baking, some mushrooms, a red onion and some fresh asparagus.  My thought process for this throwdown was to make Kebobs.

 

I got out my kebob baskets and started prepping the food.  Mushrooms in one, onions in another and the remaining two would be for the meat.

 

 

I had some left over rub from a previous cook so I decided to dust the meat with that.

 

 

 

Now that that prep work was complete, I got the potato oiled and seasoned and wrapped in tin foil, then it was outside to get the fire going and get the potato started.

 

 

The potato was large, so I figured close to an hour for it to be completely done.  Every ten minutes or so I would rotate/flip the potato so it cooked evenly.  Another option would have been to put it down into the fire pit.  It may have cooked faster, but I didn’t have anything for it to sit on, so I stuck with tradition.  When the potato was fork tender it was time to get the rest of the meal onto the fire.

 

I drizzled oil on the asparagus, mushrooms and onions and seasoned with salt and pepper, the it was onto the grill.  Since we like our meat done medium rare, the veggies went on first.  Then the meat kebobs went on for about 2 minutes a side.

 

 

Once everything was ready, it was ready to head indoors to eat.

 

 

There is something very soothing about cooking over an open fire. Sure I may curse the smoke as I seem to attract it, but once you sink your teeth into something you’ve created caveman style, it’s all worth it.

 

The Foodie

 

